London 1862*

<< Back to maps

London 1862*

This is part of Stanford's 1862 map of London, covering the area including Westminster (The Houses of Parliament), Buckingham Palace and Marble Arch in the west to the Tower of London in the east. It includes the three original cities - Westminster, Southwark and the City of London - and the area enclosed by the original city walls.

Although recognisable as the modern city there are interesting differences: Tower Bridge had yet to be built as had the Victoria Embankment, which means the river was wider than it is today - also it smelt worse as the sewers emptied directly into it. There are many other differences such as the prison on the site of what is now Tate Modern.

Perhaps the biggest change from previous maps was the the seven major railway stations in a ring around the centre of the city. As well as carving the great spokes linking London with the rest of the country, the construction of the railways led to some spectacular architectural developments such as the palace-like terminus of St Pancras.

Images of the Stanford map are provided by MOTCO Enterprises Limited. For more information, fully indexed versions on CD or print reproductions please refer to MOTCO,